Karamatura Falls Track, Huia

 

It has been awhile since I did a ‘Places’ blog post, so I thought it was about time I updated this section!

As you know, I love my walks and going to new places. My friend at work, who has a place out at Huia recommended this track to me. I was so surprised at myself that I had never thought of coming out here. GUYS, it’s seriously such a beautiful place!!
The whole track was SO green! I spent a while just sitting on that rock, breathing in the fresh air! Can’t say it was easy to get to, let’s just say it involved me crawling on my hands and knees. Worth it!

Things to know about this track:

  • 1.5 hours return
  • The start of the walk follows an easy level metal path, after about twenty minutes the track gets pretty steep and very muddy!
  • Address: 1320 Huia Rd, Huia, Auckland

1

2

3

4

5

Fun fact: Before the time of fancy lifting devices, logs were removed on a wagon like this via a tram track that used to run through this valley!
You can read more about this walk here. 

Leave a comment